Love is all you need… or is it? Penny’s about to find out in this wonderful debut.

Penny is sick of boys and sick of dating. So she vows: no more. It’s a personal choice. . .and, of course, soon everyone wants to know about it. And a few other girls are inspired. A movement is born: The Lonely Hearts Club (named after the band from Sgt. Pepper). Penny is suddenly known for her nondating ways . . . which is too bad, because there’s this certain boy she can’t help but like. . . .

AVG Goodreads Rating: 3.88 out of 5 (can change at any moment)

So I was in a very contemporary romance-y mood and decided to pick this book up.

THE PLOT

The plot of this story was very cute, but not necessarily that engaging. It was mostly about her gathering a bunch of girls together to form a boys-are-douchebags-so-lets-not-date-them-ever club, while falling in love with a boy herself in the process. It was kind of unrealistic at some points, to be honest. The gaining of members was absolutely surreal though because it happened very fast and the amount of girls who joined were also pretty unrealistic as well. I enjoyed the moments with Penny, the main character, and the love interest and really appreciated how their relationship had its up and downs.

THE MESSAGE

I thought the message that the story gave was very strong. I’d tell you what it is, but it’s something you have to figure out yourself when reading this book.

actually it’s for a completely different reason: i’m just really lazy haha 

THE CHARACTERS

Penny: Her character growth was really good. She became very headstrong in the end, whilst in the beginning she was more vulnerable. Some of the things she did and said kind of irked me, but I could kind of see why she did them. Overall she was a decent character.

The Love Interest: The love interest was a big deal in this book because he pretty much disrupted the nature of the club Penny formed by making her fall in love with him, so I have decided not to reveal who it is. He was very likable, sweet, and charming, but I wish I could’ve seen some more character development with him.

Tracy: I’ll admit that I wasn’t a huge fan of her in the beginning, but eventually she grew on me. Her character development was also very good and I liked seeing her relationship change with Diane.

Diane: I thought her change of heart was a bit rushed; I kind of wanted more information to back it up. I actually thought she seemed really shady, when she wasn’t. I’m not sure if that was the point or not, but I’m pretty sure it wasn’t, and that’s not really a good thing. I also loved how she got to stand up for herself and find out who she wanted to be. There were times when her sweetness was a bit overdone, though.

Quotes I liked: 

“And anything that might hurt me would just make me stronger in the end.”

“I was just reminding myself that I could get over heartbreak if it happened another time.
… I’ll be back again.
Yes, I would be back. I could take chances with my heart and I would be able to bounce back, and anything that might hurt me would just make me stronger in the end.
And I did deserve everything I wanted– somebody who would appreciate me, someone I could trust, someone who liked me for me.”

“Come on, Penny. Rita came over and Nate loosened his grasp. We’ve got to go to the kitchen. She turned to Nate. You know, the room with all the sharp knives.”

“You’ve got to hide your love away. You can’t just hide your feelings. You have to destroy them. Kill them before they kill you.”

“And Nate? You kiss like a slobbering dog, you have bad breath, and you wouldn’t know how to punch the right buttons on a girl if we came with manuals. Happy Thanksgiving, Jackass.”

Rate: 7.5 out of 10

Despite the few problems I had with this book, it was still a very cute (and quick) read.

 

