The Passage meets Ender’s Game in an epic new series from award-winning author Rick Yancey.

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.
AVG Goodreads Rating: 4.11 out of 5 (can change at any moment)

You know those books with those synopses that say at the bottom “…will teach you what it really means to be human”? I’m pretty sure you’ve come across at least one of these books before in your life.
The difference between those books and this one is that this one really MEANS it (now don’t get me wrong. It’s highly probable that those books with those synopses really do emphasize on that; I’m just saying that this book demonstrates that topic on humanity very well) . 

THE WRITING

Before I start talking about the characters or the romance or whatever, I would like to talk about the writing and the way this book was written because IT WAS AMAZING. There was some seriously good paragraphs and quotes in this book that even managed to give me chills. I also felt that the writing complemented the main idea of this book (survival, inner strength, humanity, etc) so much. The way it was written seemed to match the whole meaning of this entire book. It managed to impact so hard on my soul due to this that it might have left a permanent mark on it. Not joking.
Here’s a quote or two that accurately demonstrates the beauty of the writing in this book and also simultaneously makes your brain stop because it cannot comprehend the splendor that is Rick Yancey’s writing i can’t even believe that I said splendor; this is proof that Rick Yancey’s writing is so fantastic that it’s affecting my speech:
“…If you don’t kill all of us at once, those who remain will not be the weak.
It’s the strong who remain, the bent but unbroken, like the iron rods that used to give this concrete its strength.
Floods, fire, earthquakes, disease, starvation, bretrayal, isolation, murder.
What doesn’t kill us sharpens us. Hardens us. Schools us.
You’re beating plowshares into swords, Vosch, You are remaking us.
We are the clay, and you are Michelangelo.
And we will be your masterpiece.
This quote gave me chills. Hell, it still does. Here’s another one to shake up your soul:
“But if I’m it, the last of my kind, the last page of human history, like hell I’m going to let the story end this way. I may be the last one, but I am the one still standing. I am the one turning to face the faceless hunter in the woods on an abandoned highway. I am the one not running but facing. Because if I am the last one, then I am humanity. And if this is humanity’s last war, then I am the battlefield.”

THE WORLD BUILDING

The world building was phenomenal. Rick Yancey created this world filled with deceit, betrayal, and death and it was so beautifully created that it was insane. He brings you to this world where aliens are attacking humans and it’s just crazy. That’s literally the only word I have for it: crazy. The world was written so well that I felt like I was the one trying to survive in this world of deceit and death. My feelings were being played with just as much as the main character’s were so that definitely contributed to it as well.
I also loved how Rick Yancey made a character say something about “things worth dying for” and how on the back of the hardcover copy there’s a line that says, ” Now they’ve come to take the things worth dying for” because it emphasizes this world a lot. You can’t survive in this world that Rick Yancey created by fighting back for the things you love and you believe are worth living for. You have to take it to the next level to survive and fight back for the things worth dying for.

THE DECEIT 

There was so much deceit in this book that it was jarring. I loved how all of the deceit and lies put everyone against each other and created this sense of paranoia. It showed how much you could drive a person to the brink of insanity and it also showed the depths of humanity, which was interesting for me to read. You literally couldn’t trust anybody.
Here’s a representation of it:
The woman who gave birth to you? Yeah, it’s safer to murder her before she murders you. She could be working for them. Your best friend who has been with you thick and through? It’s safer to just kill them too. They know too much about you. They could sell you out to them. Or worse, they work for them. The man who raised you and taught you how to ride a bike or swim? Better to kill him off too. It’s not safe. Who knows if he’s been in contact with them.
You just can’t trust anybody.
I loved how Rick Yancey made you trust the characters though and eventually toyed with that trust. He makes you question a lot of things (and people!) in this book because of that air of deceit clouding the book.

THE ROMANCE

I think the romance was the only con in this book. The romance between Cassie and Evan just kind of felt forced and awkward to me (as well as rushed). I liked them both as separate characters, but as a couple, they didn’t really feel like one due to the underdevelopment. I felt like there should have been a bigger and longer lead-up to it. Sure, they spent some weeks together and Evan treated Cassie’s injuries (and maybe even washed her hair for her a little) but, honestly, I don’t think that’s a real justification to claim that you love somebody. However, I felt that Cassie’s feelings weren’t as strong as Evan’s which was a good because Evan had more reasons to fall in love with Cassie than Cassie did for Evan. This lightened my feelings on the romance a little more, but only a bit. On the bright side though, the romance between Ringer and Zombie was a lot better. I think I would’ve liked it a lot more, however, if I liked Ringer as a character (more on this later). I actually very much like the idea of Cassie and Zombie together though because I think they’re a real smashin’ duo. Unfortunately, I might be the only one on this planet who thinks this.

THE CHARACTERS

Cassie: Cassie’s probably one of the most strongest heroines I have ever read about. She knew her limits, but was still willing to try, and could definitely fend for herself. Often with strong female heroines like Cassie, they are often somewhat impulsive and don’t think things through. Cassie did have this impulsive streak running through her, but there were times where she thought things through so much that she pretty much psyched herself out, which showed that she was thinking things through and weighing the outcome of her decisions. She was also very snarky and sarcastic, which I appreciated a lot because I love snark (and this book was just so dark that it needed some comedy to lighten it up). One thing I didn’t like about her though was the fact that she overreacted to some things. Like, I get that in this world, you can’t really trust anybody and that results in extreme paranoia, but still.

Zombie:  I freakin’ love Zombie. We actually get to see in his POV in this book (I have no idea why he doesn’t get mentioned in the synopsis though, especially when it’s mostly in his POV) and it was interesting to read his thoughts because the situation he was in was, well, I can’t really say because that would mean spoiling. He had to deal with so many internal conflicts in this book, and it was very heartbreaking to read about how he thought he was weak and a coward, which I found to be total BS BECAUSE ZOMBIE WAS BADASS AS HELL THROUGHOUT THIS BOOK. I actually find Zombie to be a little bit like me (except he’s a lot braver than I am) because his reactions to certain things and the little comments he made in his head on them were pretty close, if not exactly, to the things I would do or think about.

Nugget: Completely, and utterly, ADORABLE. I FELT SO SORRY FOR HIM THOUGH AND THERE WERE MOMENTS WHEN I NEARLY CRIED BECAUSE OF HIM

Evan: A lot of people seem to really love him, but unfortunately I’m not in that category. I mean, I liked him and all, and he was a really good, strong, and very resourceful character, but sometimes his brashness to some things freaked me out a little. Just a bit.

Ringer: I didn’t like Ringer and I have no idea why. She took charge of things, was hardcore to the bone, and was so-very clever, but I really did not like her, which is why I’m hoping Zombie and her don’t end up together though it seems like this ship will be sailing soon in the next book. anybody have any cannons so I can shoot it down? 

QUOTES I LIKED

There’s nothing this time because I feel like I’m taking away something important if I show you guys these quotes (the quotes above don’t count though ok?)

Rate: 9/9.5/howdoiratethis out of 10
If only the romance between Cassie and Evan didn’t creep me out and have the vibe of insta-love.
clearly, somebody did not pay attention to my motto:
Insta-love = insta-hate

